Entry and stay of foreigners

NOTICE: Please note that a visa is required for holders of emergency travel documents and travel documents for refugees and aliens of all countries. Nationals from UN Member States with which the Republic of Serbia has no diplomatic relations need visas for entering the country.
At its meeting of 30 October 2014, the Government of the Republic of Serbia adopted the Decision on visa free entry to the Republic of Serbia for holders of foreign passports having a valid Schengen, UK and other Member States’ visa, or visa of the United States of America, and for holders of foreign passports having residence permit in the countries of the Schengen area, EU or the United States of America, which was published in the “Official Gazette of RS”, No. 119 of 31 October 2014 and which will enter into force on 8 November 2014.
By this decision, the above-mentioned categories of foreign nationals may, without prior visa application, enter, transit or stay in the Republic of Serbia up to 90 days during a six-month period, but not exceeding the expiring date of the said visas or residence permits.
Foreign nationals, holders of a residence permit in the form of a separate card (not a sticker affixed to their passport), must present their valid passport, upon entering the territory of the Republic of Serbia.
Beginning from June 12, 2010, citizens of European Union countries, the Swiss Confederation, Kingdom of Norway, Republic of Iceland, Bosnia and Hercegovina, Montenegro and FYR Macedonia may enter the Republic of Serbia using their identity cards and stay up to 90 days.
Foreign nationals enter and stay in the Republic of Serbia under the conditions stipulated in the Foreigners Act, using a valid travel document in which there is a visa or residency permit, unless otherwise stipulated by law or international treaty.
Entry into the Republic of Serbia will be denied to a foreigner if:
1. He does not have a valid travel document, or a visa if required
2. He does not have sufficient financial means to sustain himself for the duration of his stay in Serbia, to return to his country of origin or transit into a third country, or if he has no alternative means of support for the duration of his stay in Serbia.
3. He does not meet the conditions for transit to and entry into a third country
4. He has a prohibition on crossing the state border or is registered as an international criminal
5. He does not have a certificate of vaccination or other evidence that he is of good health when arriving from an area affected by epidemic infectious diseases
6. There is cause relating to maintaining public order or the security of the Republic of Serbia and its citizens
7. There is reasonable suspicion that he will use his stay in Serbia for purposes other than those declared

Registration of foreigners

Serbian organizations and individuals providing accommodation to foreigners against payment, as well as locals hosting visiting foreigners, must register the foreigner’s stay with the local police station within 24 hours of the commencement of the accommodation arrangement, or of the foreign visitor’s arrival.
A foreigner not using official accommodation nor staying with a private individual must register his or her stay and change of address with the local police station within 24 hours of arriving at the place of residency or of the change of address. A place of residency is where a foreigner intends to stay for more than 24 hours.


Ministry of Interior
Bul. Mihajla Pupina 2, 11070 Novi Beograd
tel: +381 (0)11 306-2000
– Border Police Administration, tel: 311-8890
– Police duty switchboard, tel: 192

Types of Visa

1. Airport transit visa (type A visa)
2. Transit visa (type B visa)
3. Short stay visa (type C visa)
4. Temporary residence visa (type D visa)
A short stay visa is issued for purposes of tourism, business and other travel for a single, double or multiple entry into Serbia. The duration of an uninterrupted stay or the total duration of successive visits of a foreigner with a short stay visa should not exceed 90 days within a period of six months from the day of the first entry.
Temporary residence may be granted to a foreigner who intends to stay in the Republic of Serbia for more than 90 days for the purposes of:
1. work, employment, conducting business or other professional activities
2. education, study or specialization, scientific and research activities, practical training, participation in an international pupil or student exchange programme or other scientific and educational activities
3. joining family
4. other justifiable reasons in accordance with law or international treaty

Visa-free entry

Countries whose citizens may enter Serbia without a visa or without a passport (but with an ID card) are defined by international treaties or by decision of the Government of the Republic of Serbia.
A foreigner who does not require a visa or travel document to enter Serbia may stay for a maximum of 90 days over a period of six months from the day of the first entry.
Citizens of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Serbia:
For all types of passport, up to 90 days:
Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belarus, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, San Marino, the Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, Tunisia, United States of America, Vatican City.
For diplomatic and official passports, as well as ordinary passports with the “on business…” clause:
Armenia, Azerbaijan, China, Georgia, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine.
Only with diplomatic or official passports:
Ecuador, Guinea, Pakistan, Peru, Turkey
Only with diplomatic passports:
Only with ordinary passports:

Conditions for issue of Visas

Citizens of countries needing a visa to enter require the following documents:
  • Valid foreign passport with at least 90 days remaining before expiry
  • Proof of reason for travel:
    *for a private visit: letter of invitation certified by the relevant authority in Serbia
    *for a business visit: letter of invitation from the company, organization or institution
    *for a tourist visit: confirmation of payment for travel services from an authorized tourist organization (voucher or other proof of payment)


On a reciprocal interstate basis, a foreign national may be required to show the following additional documents:
  • a return travel ticket
  • proof of sufficient funds in hard currency for the duration of their stay in Serbia
  • confirmation of travel health insurance for any possible costs of treatment
Group visas for group travel can be obtained from travel agencies. In order for a transit visa to be issued, travelers must have a visa for the country to which they are travelling after transit through Serbia.


Bilateral Talks

  • Participants0
  • Meetings Requested0
  • Meetings Accepted0


  • Total of Participants0

Profile views

  • Before Event0
  • After Event0